Stations of the Cross

The stations of the cross are:

  1. Christ condemned to death
  2. The cross is laid upon him
  3. His first fall
  4. He meets His Blessed Mother
  5. Simon of Cyrene is made to bear the cross
  6. Christ's face is wiped by Veronica
  7. His second fall
  8. He meets the women of Jerusalem
  9. His third fall
  10. He is stripped of His garments
  11. His crucifixion
  12. His death on the cross
  13. His body is taken down from the cross
  14. His body is laid in the tomb

(Also called Stations of the Cross, Via Crucis, and Via Dolorosa). These names are used to signify either a series of pictures or tableaux representing certain scenes in the Passion of Christ, each corresponding to a particular incident, or the special form of devotion connected with such representations.The object of the Stations is to help the faithful to make in spirit, as it were, a pilgrimage to the chief scenes of Christ's sufferings and death, and this has become one of the most popular of Catholic devotions. It is carried out by passing from Station to Station, with certain prayers at each and devout meditation on the various incidents in turn.

Copyright 2014 Church of St. Albert. All rights Reserved